dev builds
themes manual
device status forums
mailing lists
IRC bugs
dev guide

Rockbox mail archive

Subject: RE: Are the "system volume information" and "recycled" folders real?
From: Stephen Ball (
Date: 2003-05-13

You can also turn off System restore on a specific drive, you don't need
to turn it off for the entire system



Stephen Ball

Invision Power Services


-----Original Message-----
From: [] On
Behalf Of Benjamin
Sent: 13 May 2003 17:52
Subject: Re: Are the "system volume information" and "recycled" folders


They are put their by Windows. The Recycle will hold anything you
delete from

the Roclkbox while connected to a Windows machine. The System Volume

Information is part of Windows XP's system restore process. Both will
take up

space, the former when you "delete" files as they are actually moved

while connected to a Windows machine. The latter will have information

restore the drive back to a previous state (size depends on what Windows

thinks has changed). It's difficult to disable the creation of these

in Windows, but you can try the following:


Recycle Bin:

     1. Right Click on the recycle bin on the windows desktop and select


     2. On the Global tab, select "Configure Drives Independently" .

     3. On the Rockbox/Jukebox tab, check "Do not move files ...".


System Restore:

     1. Right click on My Computer on the Windows desktop and select

     2. On th System Restore tab, checkmark "Turn off System Restore on

drives" (my preference, but a bit dangerous). NOTE, this will disable

Restore for your system, so you won't be able to "go back" to a previous

if something screws up your files.




On Mon, 12 May 2003 20:10:45 -0400, Aman Singer wrote

> Hi, all.

> I'm using Windows XP pro, Rockbox 2.0, and a USB 2.0 controller

> on an Archos 6000 (original player), running version 4.53 of the

> firmware in ROM. When I access the disk using the explorer, I see two

> folders, one being called "system volume information", and one being

> called "recycled". They are both on my HD as well as the Archos. I'd

> like to know, first, if these folders are taking up space (they don't

> seem to be), but I do wonder. Secondly, are they real folders? That

> is, I didn't put them there, and don't use them. I tried deleting

> both, getting an error that someone else was using the folders,

> despite the fact that my system has no other user account and the

> drive is not accessible over the network. Is it possible that these

> are simply shortcuts that appear in the explorer while having no

> real existence? Thanks for any help, all. Aman






Page was last modified "Jan 10 2012" The Rockbox Crew