Rockbox.org home
release
dev builds
extras
themes manual
wiki
device status forums
mailing lists
IRC bugs
patches
dev guide



Rockbox mail archive

Subject: Hold Button Clearing Settings

Hold Button Clearing Settings

From: Lukas Sabota <punkrockguy318_at_comcast.net>
Date: 2006-04-16

Hello!,
    This is my first post to the list, I hope to become more involved
with the rockbox community! I have chatted with some friendly
developers on IRC, and have even written a couple patches! I'd also
like to thank the contributors for a great job on this project! It's a
really nice piece of software! But, I have a suggestion for
improvement.
    Currently, if the hold button is enabled when boot up occurs, the
settings of the device will be cleared. This seems like a great idea,
but there is an occasion where it is quite annoying. Take this case for
example:
Your device is on hold.
You plug your device in to your PC to put new music on it.
You eject and remove your device.
Your device restarts.
Your device is still on hold.
Rockbox informs you that "All your settings have been cleared".

This behavior needs to be fixed somehow. I am proposing two possible
solutions:
A: Rather then checking for the hold button, check for another button.
Perhaps Fast Forward?
B: Instead of automatically clearing the settings, perhaps asking the
user? Ie: "Press MENU to clear all settings. Press SELECT to continue
without clearing settings"

These are just two possible solutions, there many be many more intuitive
ones. Before I start doing any patch writing, I'd like to get the
opinions from the rest of the developers. Does anyone have any
thoughts/suggestions on this?

God bless,
Lukas
Received on Sun Apr 16 19:14:12 2006


Page was last modified "Jan 10 2012" The Rockbox Crew
aaa