Rockbox

Tasklist

FS#7357 - Bookmark Loses Place After Deleting Songs

Attached to Project: Rockbox
Opened by Chris (smilerz) - Tuesday, 26 June 2007, 02:26 GMT
Last edited by Jonathan Gordon (jdgordon) - Sunday, 17 August 2008, 14:48 GMT
Task Type Bugs
Category Music playback
Status Closed
Assigned To No-one
Operating System All players
Severity Low
Priority Normal
Reported Version Daily build (which?)
Due in Version Undecided
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No

Details

After a bookmark is created for a playlist, if songs from that playlist are deleted the bookmark no longer accurately saves last played position.
This task depends upon

Closed by  Jonathan Gordon (jdgordon)
Sunday, 17 August 2008, 14:48 GMT
Reason for closing:  Wont Fix
Additional comments about closing:  yes, bookmarks are intentionally kept simple so they can be loaded quickly... if you remove files from the bookmarked playlist you wont definitely get the right file playing on resume.
Comment by Alexander Spyridakis (xaviergr) - Tuesday, 31 July 2007, 09:09 GMT
I can reproduce it too.
Add to that that bookmarks can't be created when you start playback by inserting a folder. (via the context menu)
Comment by Magnus Holmgren (learman) - Saturday, 11 August 2007, 14:12 GMT
When you say "accurately saves", do you mean that when you resume the playlist, it starts at the wrong track? The bookmark is for a certain playlist index, so if you change the playlist, the bookmark can point to something else. Not much that can be done about it with the current bookmark format (as it only keeps the filename, and not the path, of the bookmarked track). At the very least it should be documented.

The part about you can't bookmark (a known limitation) is  FS#7295 .
Comment by Chris (smilerz) - Monday, 13 August 2007, 20:57 GMT
The filename does not change - here is a small example.

At the root of my player are three files.

Podcast1.mp3
Podcast2.mp3
Podcast3.mp3

I play Podcast1.mp3 and while listening to Podcast2.mp3 I delete Podcast1.mp3. Before the file is finished I create a bookmark and turn off the player.
I restart the player, resume the bookmark (either by selecting play, which resumes that last bookmark or browsing recent bookmarks and selecting Podcast2.mp3) Playback then resumes at the correct timestamp on Podcast3.mp3.

To make matters even more confusing - If I go to recent bookmarks and select (again) the bookmark that I desire the correct song is displayed in the play screen, but playback immediately stops. If I select the bookmark for a 3rd time the bookmark starts the correct song at the desired timestamp.
Comment by Peter D. (PeterD) - Saturday, 15 March 2008, 08:27 GMT
A simple "resume playback" from the main menu fails for me if I delete files between sessions. i.e. I delete files while charging with the USB connection and running the OF.

I assume that an index number is stored rather than the file name, then on reboot the directory is re-indexed and the old index number is used to find the wrong file. Then again - I could be completely wrong. ;-)

Loading...