FS#4828 - Incorrect button definitions for rebooting after upgrade

Attached to Project: Rockbox
Opened by Andrew Paterson (veg) - Monday, 13 March 2006, 22:27 GMT
Last edited by Christi Scarborough (christi-s) - Sunday, 19 March 2006, 15:17 GMT
Task Type Bugs
Category Language
Status Closed
Assigned To Daniel Stenberg (bagder)
Operating System Iriver H300 series
Severity Low
Priority Immediate
Reported Version
Due in Version Version 3.0
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No


Upgraded rockbox to the latest daily build (ie replaced rockbox.iriver and the .rockbox/ directory while the H340 was mounted via USB). After unmounting the H340 from the PC's filesystem, the choice is shown on the display to either:

(a) press Play to reboot immediately into the new rockbox version or;
(b) press any other key to leave the reboot until later.

In fact, the opposite occurs: Play does not cause an immediate reboot but any other key does.
This task depends upon

Closed by  Daniel Stenberg (bagder)
Monday, 10 April 2006, 09:11 GMT
Reason for closing:  Fixed
Additional comments about closing:  This was no actual bug and I don\'t see any language strings that mentions \"play\" or similar for this.
Comment by Paul Louden (darkkone) - Tuesday, 14 March 2006, 06:26 GMT
Are you sure it's *any* other key, or just NAVI?
NAVI is "Play" for that screen's purposes.
Comment by Andrew Paterson (veg) - Tuesday, 14 March 2006, 09:14 GMT
Yeah, looks like I remembered it wrong. After trying this again I notice the message is in fact:
Boot changed
Reboot now?

PLAY = Yes
Any Other = No

And YES, "NAVI" gives a reboot, and any other key does not. So NAVI is defined as PLAY, like you said.

Is there a way to change the message to say NAVI instead of PLAY? Or is that a horrible task which can't be done easily just to accommodate the H3x0 port?
Comment by Paul Louden (darkkone) - Tuesday, 14 March 2006, 09:40 GMT
Well, specifically the H300 port (and even the H100) aren't released yet, so details like this are very minor. The idea is that they're eventually migrating to a new language system, which will let them have target-specific strings. Until they do, if I understand the screen has to say the same thing on all targets. So basically, coming up with a way around it temporarily would be a hackish thing anyway, and it'd be something that would just get removed later when the new language system is in. Since it's not officially "released" yet, there's no real cause to clean this up as a temporary measure.

At least, that's my understanding of the whole thing.
Comment by Andrew Paterson (veg) - Tuesday, 14 March 2006, 15:13 GMT
Ah, that would explain it. I probably wouldn't have reported it if I'd bothered to try and understand it first...

Comment by Christi Scarborough (christi-s) - Sunday, 19 March 2006, 12:54 GMT
Also present for the bookmark on stop and bookmark delete dialogs.
Comment by Daniel Stenberg (bagder) - Sunday, 19 March 2006, 14:56 GMT
The bad strings are being fixed in the langv2 system, which is now targeted for mayday.