FS#6487 - Dynamic playlist Doesn't Auto-Save

Attached to Project: Rockbox
Opened by Paul Cooper (cooperpwc) - Sunday, 31 December 2006, 03:50 GMT
Task Type Bugs
Category Playlists
Status Closed
Assigned To No-one
Operating System iPod 5G
Severity Medium
Priority Normal
Reported Version
Due in Version Undecided
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No


Hello, I am running the most current dailt build 20061222 for the iPod Video. Works great! but....

According to the manual 4.1.3, "Dynamic playlists are saved so resume will restore them exactly as they were before shutdown."

Well sort of. If it is set to autoresume, then the playlist is preserved. But if that feature is turned off, then the list is lost. Furthermore even if that feature is turned on but the default "disable autoresume if phones not present" is on, the list is lost.

Maybe this is a bug or perhaps it's intentional. But it does contradict the manual and it doesn't make great sense. If the dynamic playlist is meant to be saved, why lose it because you don't want instant playback from the moment that you turn the player on?

Paul Cooper
This task depends upon

Closed by  Dominik Riebeling (bluebrother)
Sunday, 31 December 2006, 17:05 GMT
Reason for closing:  Works For Me
Additional comments about closing:  not a bug. See discussion in comments for details.
Comment by Paul Cooper (cooperpwc) - Sunday, 31 December 2006, 03:52 GMT
Hmmmm, reading this again: " "Dynamic playlists are saved so RESUME will restore them exactly as they were before shutdown." (emphasis added). Okay, so maybe this isn't a bug.
Comment by Dominik Riebeling (bluebrother) - Sunday, 31 December 2006, 08:42 GMT
So does this resume the playlist when resuming or not? It works perfectly for me, and it's intentional you need to resume the playlist (as that option otherwise wouldn't make sense).
Comment by Nils Wallménius (nls) - Sunday, 31 December 2006, 13:28 GMT
I don't understand the bug report.
When autoresume is enabled the list is saved and resumed on startup.
When autoresume is disabled the list is not saved? How do you know this?

If autoresume is disabled, the player is started in a "stopped" state and thus
the playlist is cleared BUT if you press play without creating a new playlist
the last playlist (the one that was active before shutdown) will be resumed.
This is intended behaviour and works perfectly for me on h300 with a cvs build
from december 30.

The "headphones not present" feature is only present on
ipods so I can't comment on that, but if that breaks this behaviour, please
Comment by Paul Cooper (cooperpwc) - Sunday, 31 December 2006, 16:59 GMT
Thank you for the feedback. Nils, it is exactly as you described. With Resume on Starup set to off, I can still recover the dynamic playlist by pushing Play. (I had not tried that!) What confused me is that - on startup and prior to pushing Play - I could not look at the playlist under Playlist Options, and if I went to add a song to the playlist, there was only the Insert option which would start a New Dynamic playlist without warning me of erasing the old. I therefore assumed that it was not properly saving the old.

It is saving the old list. The system works pefectly. Just Push play on stsrtup...

(Incidentally the if Resume on Starup set to on but headphones are not plugged in, the Play button again can restore the old dynamic playlist. Perfect!)

I apologise for this inaccurate bug report. I will be more careful next time. Thanks!