release
dev builds
extras
themes manual
wiki
device status forums
mailing lists
IRC bugs
patches
dev guide



Wiki > Main > PluginKeybox (compare)

Difference: PluginKeybox (r5 vs. r4)

Keybox

Information

Additional This plugin stores passwords and other sensitive information about the encryption algorithm; encrypted behind a master password. You can assign a title, an name (or username) and a password to each entry.

If you forget the master password, the data is permanently lost (unless you break the encryption with a tool external to Rockbox. Don't ask for help on doing this.). You can use the keybox again by reseting it (see "Resetting keybox" section), which will delete all the data and ask you to input a new master password.

Additional information about the encryption algorithm:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiny_Encryption_Algorithm

Usage of keybox

The plugin can be found under Applications on the Browse plugins menu. After you launch keybox, you will see a menu with four options: Enter Keybox, Reset Keybox, Playback Control and Exit.

If this is the first time you're using the keybox, selecting Enter Keybox will bring a text input screen where you can enter the new master password. If it is not the first time you're using the plugin, then this option will prompt you to type the master password that has been previously set.

In case you forgot the master password, or someone used the plugin before (and doesn't want to use it again anymore, obviously), see "Resetting keybox" for information on how to reset the keybox to its defaults.

Preparing the Keybox for use for the first time

Select Enter Keybox on the menu. A text input screen where you should input the new master password will appear. Input the password and accept the text entry; it will ask to confirm the new password.

When you're done, you will see an empty screen. Head over to "Adding an entry" section to start adding entries.

Adding an entry

To start adding entries, press and hold the action key for your player (usually Select). A menu will appear; select Add entry.

Enter the title for the entry. This title will be shown on the list of entries of the keybox. Next, it asks for the "name". This name can be whatever you want to display along with the password when you select the entry on the entries list. The most obvious use of this field is to hold the username for your login combination ;). Finally, enter the password. It will be shown along with the "name" when you select the "title" of your entry on the list.

You will now see one more option on the entry list screen (the one that was blank before you added any entry). You can repeat these steps for each entry you want to add.

Viewing an entry

On the list of entries, select the entry you want to see. A splash will show the "name" for the entry and, after a space, the "password". The splash will disappear after you press a key (or move your finger on the clickwheel if your player has one).

Editing an entry

On the list of entries, move the selector to the entry you want to edit. Press and hold the Select key. A menu will appear.

Select Edit title if you want to edit the title of the entry. After you accept the text input, the entry will be saved and you will return to the list.

Select Edit user name if you want to edit the "name" of the entry. After you accept the text input, the entry will be saved and you will return to the list.

Select Edit password if you want to edit the "password" of the entry. After you accept the text input, the entry will be saved and you will return to the list.

Deleting an entry

On the list of entries, move the selector to the entry you want to delete. Press and hold the Select key. A menu will appear.

Select Delete entry to delete the entry without confirmation. You will return to the entry list, notice that the entry you deleted isn't there anymore.

Resetting the Keybox

Reset the keybox if you forgot the master password and want to use the Keybox again, or want to delete all the entries.

To reset the Keybox, launch the plugin. Select Reset Keybox on the menu. After a confirmation prompt, the keybox will be reset (unless you cancel the operation at the prompt).

The Keybox is now as new. Follow the instructions on "Usage of keybox - Preparing the Keybox for use for the first time" to use Keybox again.


CategoryPlugin: Stores passwords ( and other sensitive data [Recorder ALERT! documentation) [RecorderDONE, OndioDONE, H100DONE, H300DONE, H10DONE, iPod 1G2GDONE, iPod 4GDONE, iPod ColorDONE, iPod MiniDONE, iPod NanoDONE, iPod VideoDONE, iAudio M5DONE, iAudio X5DONE, GigabeatDONE, Sansa e200DONE, Sansa c200DONE, Sansa FuzeDONE, MR-100DONE]

r5 - 22 Jan 2011 - 12:13:01 - GabrielMaia?

Revision r5 - 22 Jan 2011 - 12:13 - GabrielMaia?
Revision r4 - 14 Sep 2010 - 11:10 - MichaelStummvoll
Copyright by the contributing authors.