Rockbox mail archiveSubject: Re: Wondering about Ipods
Re: Wondering about Ipods
From: Paul Louden <paulthenerd_at_gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 6 Sep 2006 18:25:57 -0500
The problem most people are reporting is that if you load music using iTunes
(which registers it into the database) with the newest Apple firmware, it
still ins't usable in the Apple firmware (even though theoretically
registered properly in the Apple Database) if Rockbox is installed for, as
far as any one can tell, JUST because Rockbox is installed. This seems to
only happen with the Nano.
In almost all other cases I've heard of, either the music isn't copied over
using iTunes, or it's copied over using an iTunes-structure generating tool
that doesn't generate a valid structure for the newer firmware versions.
On 9/6/06, Andrew Hart <ahart_at_dim.uchile.cl> wrote:
> I came across the following page which seems to suggest that in order
> for the Apple firmware to be able to play anything, it must be
> downloaded to the Ipod using Itunes. Looking at the contents of the
> Ipod as an external drive, this page gives me the impression that the
> Ipod firmware cannot see the FAT32 partition or, at the very least,
> doesn't examine the directory structure at all. If ths is the case, I
> imagine it could be using a database (somewhat like tag cache) but it
> cannot see anything outside that database.
> Here's the page URL:
> I'm just wondering if this could be part of the problem that folks have
> reported whereby they cannot play any of the music loaded in for use
> with Rockbox using the Apple firmware. Perhaps
> this is already common knowledge. I didn't know about it and just
> thought I'd share in case it is of use to anyone.
> If this is how the Ipod works, then in order to make music visible to
> the Ipod that wasn't loaded on using Itunes, you need a utility to add
> all the knew files to the database. And this would open up a new
> kettle of fish, because Itunes would then promptly resynch the Ipod to
> the Itunes library the next time Itunes was run and this would wipe out
> all the changes (unless you have manual playlist management selected).
Received on 2006-09-07