FS#5207 - settings usually "cleared" on boot

Attached to Project: Rockbox
Opened by Anonymous Submitter - Friday, 21 April 2006, 16:05 GMT
Task Type Bugs
Category Settings
Status Closed
Assigned To No-one
Operating System iPod 5G
Severity Medium
Priority Normal
Reported Version
Due in Version Undecided
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No


About 80% of the time, when my iPod boots rockbox, the word "Cleared" appears and all settings are lost, requiring me to go through and choose all of my settings over again.
This task depends upon

Closed by  Zakk Roberts (midkay)
Monday, 24 April 2006, 18:18 GMT
Reason for closing:  Invalid
Additional comments about closing:  Don\'t boot with the hold switch on.
Comment by Ralf Herz (herz42) - Friday, 21 April 2006, 17:06 GMT
You have to disable the hold switch when booting.
When hold is active on boot, settings are reset to default values. This is a safety feature to recover from problems that are caused by weird settings.

It was discussed to change this behaviour some time when the ipod branch gets more stable...

Anyhow you can save your current settings to a .cfg file and load them on accidential reset or a reset due to internal format change quite easy.